Design Review Board


Agendas & Minutes

Go to current agendas and minutes (August 2019 to present.) 

On the Agendas and Minutes Page, use the filter button to the right of the search bar to filter by date or by the name of a board or committee.

Archived minutes and agendas: City Council and Board and Commission records from June 18, 2012, to July 19, 2019.


The Design Review Board is enabled by the City Council through Title 20, the Missoula City Zoning Ordinance to review and decide on sign packages, building graphics, variances from the NC-B Boulevard Neighborhood Character Overlay, and deviations from certain development standards, found in the Landscaping Chapter, Multi-dwelling Building design standards, Townhouse standards and in the NC-SR Southside Riverfront Neighborhood Character Overlay. All decisions of the Design Review Board may be appealed to the City Council.


  • Seven members and one alternate
  • One to three-year staggered terms as determined by City Council
  • City residents

Membership may include

The Design Review Board must consist of seven regular members and one alternate member, all of whom reside in the city, who shall represent the following four categories:

1. At least two members shall be from these design and planning professions:

  • Licensed Architect
  • Licensed Landscape Architect
  • Urban Planner
  • Urban Designer

2. At least one member shall be from these construction and building fields:

  • Licensed Civil Engineer
  • Licensed Contractor
  • Builder / Developer

3. At least one member shall represent the profession of graphic design, signage or wayfinding.
4. No more than one member shall represent the community at large and not be from the above listed professions.

All individuals who seek appointment to the Design Review Board should have a demonstrated interest in the design of the community and be motivated by a desire to serve fellow members of the community. Members of the board should be persons who, as a result of their training and experience, are qualified to analyze and interpret architectural and landscape drawings and site plans.

The alternate member serves in the absence or vacancy of any regular board member.

Members Start of Term End of Term
Maria Chesnut July 1, 2018 Dec. 31, 2019
Brandon Prinzing July 1, 2018 Dec. 31, 2019
Jacob Zander (Architect, Alternate) April 1, 2019 Dec. 31, 2020
Kyle Gauthier (Civil Engineer) (Vice Chair) Feb. 25, 2019 Dec. 31, 2020
Heather McMilin (Architect, Developer) Feb. 25, 2019 Dec. 31, 2020
Jacque Walawander July 1, 2018 Dec. 31, 2019
Matt Loomis (Chair) July 1, 2018 Dec. 31, 2019
Ryan Smith (Landscape Architect/Urban Designer) Feb. 25, 2019 Dec. 31, 2020


Missoula Municipal Code (MMC)

For more information contact the Development Services Department at 406-552-6630.


Position vacancies are advertised in the media approximately one month in advance. Interested in serving on a board? These are the vacant positions we are recruiting now.